Reviews

AMAZON.COM:

5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read From An Exciting New Writer, August 26, 2013
By
Martha Gordon “MG” (Wayland, Ma United States)
(REAL NAME)
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

“A Portrait in Time” is a terrifically fun read, appropriate for a wide range of readers. It combines the breezy wit of a modern romance with the fantasy of time travel, set in the venue of a Parisian art museum. The characters are very well drawn; and the tensions and interplay between art and life, dreams and reality, and memory and myth that Schneider weaves together make for a stimulating story that is hard to put down. Am looking forward to more from this skillful auteur.

5.0 out of 5 stars A Portrait in Time is an awesome work of fiction. I didn’t want to put it down!, August 29, 2013
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

This book is fun, sensuous, and original. Its mixed genre sounded a little dangerous at first – contemporary fiction with an artistic reference, mystery and literary romance with a twist of sci-fi – and I was very pleased with the outcome. The book, while it doesn’t perhaps fit neatly in any category, was seamless and elegant in its prose. It was very involving, and I have a feeling its words will linger with me for quite a while. The description and imagery in the work is clear and inviting, and somewhat hazy and dreamy in its feeling, like an impressionist’s painting. The characters were varied and interesting, and surprised me more than once. I loved this book. I’m sure my daydreams will contain these characters and settings for a long time. Overall, fiction author Charles J. Schneider’s A Portrait in Time contains a story and characters that pull you in, just as the time portal in the book pulls in the time traveler.

5.0 out of 5 stars Tour de Force, November 16, 2013
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

Unique combination of imagination and erudition with a science fiction substrate. A pleasure for lovers of 19th century art and culture.

This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

I thoroughly enjoyed the entire journey! I was unable to put this novel down and am impressed that the writer has just begun his writing career! Please provide us with a sequal?

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, September 8, 2013
By
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

Very intriguing story line, believable, unpredictable plot and lots of steamy romance. Extremely well written with a great mix of scientific, medical, artistic, even forensic possibilities to keep the reader guessing. Readers beware: Once you start this one, you will want to keep reading to the end!!

 
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fiction Novel, September 8, 2013
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

I was totally captivated by this wonderfully written time travel novel. “A Portrait in Time” incorporated a combination of mystery and romance that left this reader wanting more and hoping the author pursues a sequel to this book. It would also make a fantastic movie.

5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to more from Dr. Schneider, September 4, 2013
This review is from: A Portrait in Time (Kindle Edition)

A great trip though time and the streets of Paris. Very nice plot development and blend of French and English to articulate subtle cultural nuances. Good knowledge and invention of art history and Paris geography. A little of Kostova’s Swan Thieves and Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris.

This was a good read that kept me turning pages. Hoping for more soon from the good doctor.

BARNES & NOBLE.COM
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

     I read this book in two sittings, couldn’t put it down.

    I read this book in two sittings, couldn’t put it down. It grabs the attention right away with quick and often unpredictable turns. This new author has an impressive, easy to read but at the same time sophisticated style. He creates very visual images of the different scenes in the book, which makes the reader feel as if he/she is watching a movie. The story is an interesting and balanced mixture of romance, drama, and contemporary fiction. The characters are realistic and well developed. It is a fun read, but not the usual ‘pass the time on the plane’ book. It leaves lingering thoughts about the psychology of the different personalities. I would definitely recommend this book.

  • Posted September 6, 2013

     Terrifically Fun Read!

    “A Portrait in Time” is a terrifically fun read, appropriate for a wide range of readers. It combines the breezy wit of a modern romance with the fantasy of time travel, set in the venue of a Parisian art museum. The characters are very well drawn; and the tensions and interplay between art and life, dreams and reality, and memory and myth that Schneider weaves together make for a stimulating story that is hard to put down. Am looking forward to more from this skillful auteur.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

     What a great page-turner! I couldn’t put it down

    What a great page-turner! I couldn’t put it down and couldn’t wait to see how it ended. Congratulations to the author.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

     I highly recommend this book. It is suspenseful, thrilling and compelling

    I highly recommend this book. It is suspenseful, thrilling and compelling. You won’t be able to put it down!

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

     What a great read  “A Portrait in Time” is!

    What a great read  ‘A Portrait in Time’ is!.  Events move quickly, the plot is incredibly creative ( especially your time travel theory ), and the characters are quite believable.   Congratulations!

OPRAH MAGAZINE:

Posted: Tue 9/10/2013 2:17 PM
I highly recommend “A Portrait in Time” by Author and Medical Oncologist, Charles J. Schneider. I was totally captivated by this wonderfully written time travel novel. It incorporated a combination of mystery and romance that leaves the reader wanting more. I hope the author pursues a sequel to this book. “O” readers will love it also.


Read more: http://www.oprah.com/omagazine/What-O-Magazine-Readers-are-Reading-Summer-Reading_1/8#ixzz2pFO5pZhm 

AMAZON.COM DE (GERMANY):

Die hilfreichsten Kundenrezensionen

5.0 von 5 Sternen A great fantastic novel 31. August 2013
Von Cegado
Format:Kindle Edition|Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf
This is a great novel with a fascinating story around 19th century artwork. But don’t expect just a historic plot. It includes love, sex and crime, but also a piece of science fiction. So it’s a wonderful combination of thrilling ideas with lots of very interesting characters outlined in clear detail.

2 thoughts on “Reviews”

  1. My review of “Under the Forgotten Oak”
    Breathtaking! 5 out of 5 stars
    A exquisite story weaved together with such care and imagination! I wanted the journey to go one forever! Thank you Dr. Schneider for another beautiful journey!

  2. What a journey! I feel as though I was taken on this trip to Paris and back and forth through time myself! Elegantly worded so as to make the reader feel we are part of the story! I can close my eyes and see the magnificent pieces of art in front of me! I had to ration my reading so I didn’t finish it in one sitting! I was sad when it ended and am very eager for the next adventure Dr. Schneider will take his readers on! You are a true wordsmith Dr. Schneider please keep the books coming!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A Portrait In Time